Laser Results & Reports

Laser regatta reports and results.
If you have results or reports for this section please contact the
Results should be in HTML or spreadhseet format which programs like sailwave will output for you, or a reference to the reports on another site.

2013 NZ Laser Champs Results

Many thanks to the volunteers at Napier Sailing Club
Raced Thursday 17th to Sunday 20th January
Final Results

2012 North Island Laser Champs Results & Report

For this years North Island champs we gate crashed the Napier Sailing Clubs summer Regatta. The club ran two courses with Optimists, Trailer Sailers and of Paper Tigers on the inner course, and Lasers sharing the outer course with a good fleet of OK's.
We had 7 races of Champagne sailing in the Hawkes Bay sun. Each day started with a light race then strengthed to around 10 to 13 knots. Classic oscillating sea breeze and compressed fleets meant the slightest mistake was punished.

21 boats in the Standard fleet.
Won again by Andrew Delabarca followed by Kent Copplestone - both from Worser Bay. In 3rd was Stu Fanshaw from Thames who is new to our regattas - but we hope to attract him back for the Nationals.

15 Radials.
Won by master Edmund Tam from Worser Bay followed by youth sailors Matthew Hughes from Murrays Bay and Michael Cressey from Napier Sailing Club.
Kevin Welsh from Panmure and Bruce Jones were 2nd and 3rd masters.
Laura Lowther from Royal Akarana was the leading Radial female. Followed by local sailors Gill Waiting and Jo Morrel.

Many thanks to Mike Shields, Paul Redman and commodore Barry Kerr for having us at Napier.
And to Clive Snow and his on the water team for running very slick races.

The regatta was a great teaser for the National Champs when we are back at Napier from 16th to the 20th of January 2013.

Also see regatta report on

2012 Northshore Freshwater Champs Results & Report

There were good SW winds breezes for the North Shore Freshwaters at Lake Pupuke. But cold at times in the rain squalls.
Blair McLay dominated the Standard fleet, leaving the interesting battle for second with Mike Keeton (2012 Radial Grand Master World Champ) pipping Scott Leith (2012 Radial Apprentice Master world Champ).

The Radial fleet was a little depleted this year. Pete Thomas (3rd Radial Master at the 2012 World Champs) won a close battle with youngster Jacob Miller up from Cambridge followed by Jeff Coffin from Panmure.

Thanks to Garth, John Dowsett, Dave Lowe and the Pupuke boys for hosting us.

All results

Auckland Laser Masters - Round 2 on Saturday 28th April

Winds were light for the Auckland Masters Laser Champs at Tamaki on 21st April.
Garth did well to get us 2 races. But we need 4 for a series.
So to finish off the series racing will commence again for
Round 2 at Tamaki on Saturday 28th - 2:15pm first race.

2012 Auckland Laser Champs Results

Well it blew like hell on the Saturday. On the Tamaki YCs start boat Garth measured 2 solid minutes of the souwester at 30 knots during the the second race. Then his arm got tired. It didn't stop him setting 3 looong races into the tide. He has quite a cruel streak does Garth. Sunday was lighter, but more to the South and still shifty.

Of those that coped;
Scott Leith cleaned up the Radials mens (again, boring, whatever). At least he was properly pushed by Mark Orams in 2nd. Sara Winther took the female radials, with a cameo appearance by second place Jo Aleh to give the event an Olympic flavour. Our dear leader Nick Page gets his name on the Standard cup, alongside some quite illustrious company. And 2nd placed Ken Atchison made his trip up from Hamilton worthwhile. He often comes up and we appreciate the effort.

But for some of us Tamakis famous Roast Beef Sandwiches were the weekends highlight.

All results at:

Olympic representatives Shine at 2012 New Zealand National Laser Championship

Nationals Report from Edmund Tam at Worser Bay BC.

Photo: Sara Winther – Laser Radial Winner and Andrew Murdoch Winner of the Laser Open (Photo by Bruce Jones)

2012 NZ Laser Champs Results, Reports & Photos

2011 South Island Laser Champs Results

The South islands in Dunedin at MacAndrews Bay Yacht Club on 10th, 11th Dec. It was 15-25 knots NE on Saturday & we got 5 races in. Sunday was cancelled due to too much wind!
Alex Morris from Dunedin won the Full Rigs for the 3rd year in a row. In the Radials the masters dominated, with Hamish Atkinson and Murray Bain 1 & 2 in all 5 races. Craig Atkinson won the 4.7’s which surprised everyone as he hadn’t sailed since last years Nats.

All South Island Champs Results

Syndicate content